Street food enthusiasts and culinary connoisseurs alike gathered in the heart of London on the 10th of October for the much-anticipated 2023 StrEATfood Awards. Hosted by the energetic DJ BBQ, the event took place at the Big Penny Social, promising a day of fierce competition and delectable creations.

Sixteen talented chefs from the world of contract catering took the stage, each competing for the title of Chef of the Year and Street Food Dish of the Year. The culinary contest consisted of four intense rounds, with each round featuring four chefs. What set this competition apart was the unique dual-category challenge – the “Technical” round, which required participants to craft dishes using sponsor-provided ingredients, and the “Signature” round, where they could showcase the dish that earned them a spot in the competition.

The line-up included:

Gather and Gather

Kathryn Nolan-Jackson

Genuine Dining Co

Kameca Gayle

Houston and Hawkes

Kaan Akmanlar

Impact Food Group

James Noakes


Stuart Dale


Matt Vernon

Restaurant Associates

Tom Warford


Adam Collison

Thomas Franks

Tim Ward

Angel Hill Food Co

Matt Chapman


Dan Kirkpatrick

Bennett Hay

Lee Gardner

Blue Apple

Matt Caterall

BM Caterers

Sunil Varma


Mark Inwood

Edwards and Blake

Rebecca Coomber

Gather and Gather

Kathryn Nolan-Jackson

Genuine Dining Co

Kameca Gave

Houston and Hawkes

Kaan Akmanlar

And then came the exciting moment when the winners were revealed! Matt Chapman from Angel Hill Food Co was crowned StrEATfood Chef of the Year for his innovative creation, the Keralan steak and chip butty, crafted from sponsor-provided products.

For the prestigious title of StrEATfood Dish of the Year, Kameca Gayle from Genuine Dining Co emerged as the big winner. Her rum-battered red snapper dish wowed the judges and secured her the top spot. Remarkably, this was Kameca’s first competition, and her months of dedication and fine-tuning of her dish certainly paid off.

Here are the final results of the 2023 StrEATfood Awards:

2023 StrEATfood Dish of the Year

1st: Kameca Gayle, Genuine Dining Co

2nd: Matthew Chapman, Angel Hill Food Co

3rd: Matt Catterall, Blue Apple

2023 StrEATfood Chef of the Year

1st: Matthew Chapman, Angel Hill Food Co

2nd: Mark Inwood, Chartwells

3rd: Dan Kirkpatrick, Aramark

The 2023 StrEATfood Awards were a true celebration of culinary innovation and talent, showcasing the outstanding work of contract catering chefs in the world of street food. With impressive creations and fierce competition, the event left foodies and industry insiders eagerly anticipating next year’s competition.

Photo credit to H2O. See full photos here: